Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 1st, 2008

Yesterday was a day of revelations. First, a peak peek at our electric bill revealed that our usage for the last month was 7.2 kWh a day, down from 8. I was unsure if we could get down under 8, so this was quite exciting for me.

I also realized that I can buy used books on Amazon. And see from whence they ship so as to get the ones closest to my home. And for cheap. Rock the fuck on.

And then I realized that I should be checking eBay for cloth diapers. Chico is quite the chubby bubby and is close to being out of many of the diapers we are currently using. And here is where I have a confession to make.

I had never allowed myself to browse on eBay before last night.

But now? What a world has opened up before me! I am only allowed to buy diapers, and only if we can really use them. I’m not allowed to check my bids obsessively. While I am waiting (im)patiently for the auctions to end, I am not allowed to loiter on other diaper-purchasing sites. And no bidding on sizes larger than the next size up.

Without these restrictions, I fear my soul would be lost forever.

Ironically, the first book I ordered used was Affluenza.

And yes, I am going to pop over to my eBay as soon as I am finished typing this.

Read Full Post »

Happy New Year?

Both kids are sick. I’m about to call the pediatrician to see if we need to take Chico in (he has a checkup on Thursday). Lucy is asleep in her bed (hopefully) and Chico in his swing since it keeps the mucous from running down his throat. I never knew an infant could have so much goop. I feel so terrible sucking his snot since he hates it so much but it has to come out. One thing that has helped is letting him sleep on his tummy on my chest, propped up as the muca-mucas (as Lucy calls them) run forward and make for easier removal. No fever for him, low-grade for her.

It is such a helpless feeling when your kids are sick. Even when, like mine, aside from the cold symptoms they are acting pretty much normal. Chico is still a pretty grinny little fellow when I’m not harassing him with the bulb syringe, and Lucy practically has to be restrained to keep her from running wild through the house.

Truth be told, Lucy was never sick this young. I’m really worried. I guess I better bite the bullet and call the ped. Hold good thoughts for my littles, ok? I’m trying not to overreact but it’s really hard.

ETA–the doc asked if this was my first child, which we all know is code for ‘are you crazy?’  So, yeah, I’m calm now.  About to watch the Wizard of Oz with Lucy and hella excited about it–bet you didn’t know I can recite the entire movie!  Send snot-clearing vibes pls.

Read Full Post »